

DIVISION OF MINES BOARD OF COAL MINING EXAMINERS CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS http://www.dmme.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm

SURFACE FOREMAN

PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and certifications.

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION: *Surface Foreman

This certification authorizes the holder to:

- Perform all surface mine foreman and/or examiner duties required by State and Federal Laws and Code
- Record the findings of on-shift examinations

NOTE:

• This certification may be used at Prep Plants, Dock Facilities and Surface Facilities (labs, shops, warehouses)

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REOUIREMENTS:

- Application (BCME-1) and \$40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
- 23 years of age
- Five years of mining experience at least two years experience must be at a surface mine
- 4 year Mining Engineering Degree shall suffice for three years of the five years experience
- Mine Technology Degree shall suffice for two years of the five years experience
- Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced Training acceptable)
- Hold a General Miner Certification as part of this certification (A card will be issued)

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS: A score of 85% on each element of the examination	
ELEMENTS OF EXAM	NUMBER OF QUESTIONS
 Electrical & Equipment (EE) 	20
 Explosives (EX) 	20
 First Aid (FA) 	20
 Mine Foremanship (MF) 	20
 General Mine Practices (MP) 	50
 Federal Regulations (FR) 	20

- Virginia Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Regulations (RL) 20
- Gas Detection practical demonstration
- Records - Preshift/Onshift (PO)
- Ground Control/Red Zone Practical .

RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:

- Title 30 CFR Parts 48, 51, 77 • Surface Foreman Guide & Surface Rules & Regs.
- Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia First Aid for Miners Study Guide Mine Gases Packet
- BCME Requirements
- VA Ground Control Plan/Red Zones VA Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Regs. DMLR

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy's Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center (276) 523-8233 and Keen Mountain Field Office (276) 498-4533.

*4 hours biannual continuing education required to update certification.